Skip to content

Embracing Change and Giving Thanks

May 28, 2014

After six and a half years, this is my last week with Vail Resorts.  While I have had an incredible experience working in a role that combines two of my personal passions (skiing and analytics), I have decided it is time to step out of my comfort zone and try something new.

As I reflect on my experiences over the past several years, I am grateful for so many things.

Innovative Leadership:  I have been fortunate to work with many brilliant, innovative leaders. Working for one of the largest companies in the ski industry has been interesting on so many levels- but particularly when I consider the leaders who continue to push and grow the company for the future.

Talented Colleagues: I also had the privilege to work with some of the most passionate and talented colleagues you could find in one company.  When I started with Vail, Facebook and Twitter were barely mainstream or non-existent.  I was fortunate to see our company grow from one Facebook page, to an on-mountain digital experience that changed the way people share their experiences from the ski slopes.

A Smart Team: I’ve been able to build up the web analytics practice from a team of one (hey it’s just me!) to a group of four. Saying good-bye to them will not be easy, but I can take comfort knowing they are some of the best, most creative problem solvers out there.  They are going to do just fine carrying the torch forward. J

Generous Analytics Industry:  When I started out as a solo analyst, I relied on many people to get me through my first few Site Catalyst Implementations.  Vendors, consultants, people on Twitter I’ve never met in person but who were generous enough to lend an ear and answer questions. Over time, that network of support has grown to include people I now consider friends, and I have relished the opportunities we have had to support each other over the years.  Finding a smart group of people with common professional interests, passions, and challenges was, and continues to be a blessing.  I am looking forward to continuing those relationships in the future.

So what’s next? I am going to work as an independent contractor. A few years ago, the thought of going freelance might have terrified me.  Today, I find myself excited by the opportunity to learn about different companies, in different industries, and to help other companies with their digital analytics needs.  I’m looking forward to stretching and growing and trying something fresh and new. I feel fortunate to have found a great opportunity as an independent contractor. I’m so grateful for the opportunities I’ve had in my career thus far, and am looking forward to new opportunities and adventures.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

